31 Creepy Two Sentence Stories

 

There is an elegance to the manner in which words can create images. That our minds can take in a few brief sentences and create from them entire worlds. That the shortest of phrases can raise powerful emotions. Take Hemingway’s single line – “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” Six words and we can, in the most fanciful and creative ways, tell ourselves the entire sad story.  
 
For the storyteller, arriving at the perfect sentence – the one that transmits the entirity of our idea or emotion is like walking outside on the first beautiful spring day after a long cold winter. For the horror fan, we long for that single sentence that raises goose bumps. The single image that resonates with us long after we’ve read it and deep into the dark night.
 
Below are 31 creepy two sentence stories that do just that. They were found on AskReddit and the original author proceeds the work. In the comments section vote for your favorite or write your own.

 

1. justAnotherMuffledVo
 
I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy there’s somebody on my bed.”
 
2. Graboid27
I can’t move, breathe, speak or hear and it’s so dark all the time. If I knew it would be this lonely, I would have been cremated instead.
 
3. AnarchistWaffles
Don’t be scared of the monsters, just look for them. Look to your left, to your right, under your bed, behind your dresser, in your closet but never look up, she hates being seen.
 
4. therealhatman
I woke up to hear knocking on glass. At first, I though it was the window until I heard it come from the mirror again.
 
5. Resposito-Nightmirrors
I almost laughed when I saw my wife in the mirror creeping up to scare me. Then I heard her car pull into the drive and remembered she wasn’t home.
 
6. KnowsGooderThanYou
They celebrated the first successful cryogenic freezing. He had no way of letting them know he was still conscious
 
7. Horseseverywhere
It sat on my shelf, with thoughtless porcelain eyes and the prettiest pink doll dress I could find. Why did she have to be born still?

8. bentreflection

The grinning face stared at me from the darkness beyond my bedroom window. I live on the 14th floor.
 
9. guztaluz
There was a picture in my phone of me sleeping. I live alone.
 
10. marino1310
I just saw my reflection blink.

11. hctet

Working the night shift alone tonight. There is a face in the cellar staring at the security camera.

12. Mikeyseventyfive

They delivered the mannequins in bubble wrap. From the main room I begin to hear popping.

 

13. Calamitosity

She asked why I was breathing so heavily. I wasn’t.

 

14. madamimadamimadam
You get home, tired after a long day’s work and ready for a relaxing night alone. You reach for the light switch, but another hand is already there.

 

15. skuppy
My daughter won’t stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help.

 

16. fluffyponyza
Day 312. Internet still not working.
 
17. StoryTellerBob
I kiss my wife and daughter goodnight before I go to sleep. When I wake up, I’m in a padded room and the nurses tell me it was just a dream.

 

18. TLFMOD
The funeral attendees never came out of the catacombs. Something locked the crypt door from the inside.

 

19. The_D_String
My wife woke me up last night to tell me there was an intruder in our house. She was murdered by an intruder 2 years ago.

 

20. Resposito – Nightmirrors
The sounds of the screams were awful. They were worse when I realized they were my own.

 

21. vigridarena
I was having a pleasant dream when what sounded like hammering woke me. After that, I could barely hear the muffled sound of dirt covering the coffin over my own screams.

 

22. Scry67
The last man on Earth sat alone in a room. There was a knock at the door.

 

23. cobaltcollapse
After working a hard day I came home to see my girlfriend cradling our child. I didn’t know which was more frightening, seeing my dead girlfriend and stillborn child, or knowing that someone broke into my apartment to place them there.

 

24. comparativelysane
You hear your mom calling you into the kitchen. As you are heading down the stairs you hear a whisper from the closet saying “Don’t go down there honey, I heard it too.”

 

25. ichokedcheryltunt
Nurse’s Note: Born 7 pounds 10 ounces, 18 inches long, 32 fully formed teeth. Silent, always smiling.

Image

26. blaqkmagick
The longer I wore it the more it grew on me. She had such pretty skin.

 

27. VaultKid321
“I can’t sleep” she whispered, crawling into bed with me. I woke up cold, clutching the dress she was buried in.

 

28. scabbycakes
Being the first to respond to a fatal car accident is always the most traumatic thing I see as a police officer. But today, when the crushed body of the little dead child boy strapped in his car seat opened his eyes and giggled at me when I tried to peel him out of the wreckage, I immediately knew that today would be my last day on the force.

 

29. Owllette
I looked out my window. The stars had gone away.

 

30. hangukbrian
I always thought my cat had a staring problem, she always seemed fixated on my face. Until one day, when I realized that she was always looking just behind me.

 

31. yoshkow
The pairs of emaciated eyes outnumber the single round in my gun. With pleading tears falling on her doll’s hair, I point the barrel at my last surviving daughter.

My vote is for #24 – which is the real mom?
16 responses to “31 Creepy Two Sentence Stories

  1. OMG! So much dysfunction in such a small space! Already shared this on FB!!! I… actually had a stillborn daughter, so those really kind of freak me out, but I’ve often wondered what cats are looking at and it would be torture to shoot your only daughter to protect her from the zombies! I agree, though, the mom one is freaky… I was thinking the EXACT same thing… wait, which one is… ? Out the window, I go!

  2. The grinning face stared at me from the darkness beyond my bedroom window. I live on the 14th floor.

    The view from my window in college looked out over a graveyard. I always feared a face would pop up.

  3. I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy, check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy, there’s somebody on my bed.” THE BEST ONE!

    • I know, I’m jealous I didn’t think some of these up…and hey come on over to Writinginadead world where we talk about writing all the time.

  4. My gf complained why I still keep pictures of me and my ex in my phone. Then it hit me, every single picture there is taken after she died 3 years ago..

Opinions are fun!

