Creating My Own Horror Story

clock-melting-clocks

I enjoy blogging although with work (which is a lot of writing) and my third novel, it is a challenge to keep the site current. It is an issue that every blogger faces. We start out with a boatload of ideas and then over time it gets a little more difficult to come up with new ones. Still, I had been thinking about writing more on the topics of writing and the self publishing experience. I’m no expert, but I’ve learned a lot in the past three years and thought it might be of interest.

There was of course another concern. The readers here at Nightmirrors signed up for horror commentary. I felt it might be a cheat to suddenly start adding in writing topics. Dark movie fans, dark fiction fans and writers do not necessarily share cross interests in topics. It occurred to me that I could start a second blog, Writing in a Dead World devoted to the art of dark fiction and publishing. That would resolve one issue, but the bigger issue of time still loomed. I mean I have plenty of content for the new blog – in fact I have outlined twenty-four articles, but still two blogs seemed a  big commitment.  So with no rush I grabbed up the new WordPress url and selected a nice theme and then just let it be…until yesterday.

During lunch I decided to take the next step of organizing and formatting the site – just in case. I added some pages, did some widget links, and added some pictures. My plan was to invite other blogger/writers to join me in authoring the site so I even added a Co-Host space. Almost done, I realized I couldn’t really get a feel for the layout unless I posted an article. I decided to use “Don’t Write That!” because it fit with the scheme of the blog and because it had been “freshly pressed” back in July. I pasted it in and hit publish. I wasn’t crazy about the layout, but I figured I’d come back later in the week…or month…and play around with it.

A short time later I began getting notifications of “likes.” I assumed that the blog would never be found – I still don’t know how readers did find it. To add to my troubles there were people signing up to follow my blog. A blog I was not ready to fully engage. Oh well, I guess I’m officially in. If you have such interest in writing, publishing or like listening to my general opinion lol, please feel free to join me over at Writing in a Dead World.

3 responses to “Creating My Own Horror Story

  1. I blog both on writing and on horror on my blog. I don’t know why you can’t do that on this blog, but I’ll check out the other one anyway. Besides, I’m always happy to discuss horror or writing with other writers.

Opinions are fun!

