For those not aware, last year I accidently wrote a novel. I say accidently because the plan was to pen a short “zombie-type” apocalyptic horror story. As I have reported, 5,000 words became 10, became 30  and well, there you have it.

On Friday, I received the advance copy from the publisher. I’d like to report that I received it with cool professionalism. I’d like to say that I set the package aside and continued on with more important matters at hand. What I did, was I tore open the package like an eight-year-old opening gifts on Xmas morning.

And there it was 400 cream colored pages, wrapped in a glossy cover – an 8.5 x 5.5 package of my labor of love. And there on the front…my name…on a book…a real book no less. It was surreal and it will always be in the top ten moments of my life.

This wasn’t about ego, honestly selling the damn thing was never that important to me…I just wanted to tell a story that people might like. But there it was, a moment that will sit on a short list of moments I will always remember…like the day I met Cheryl and the day we wed, like holding Devin and Austin on the day they were born, like watching my daughters put on their first pair of high heels and glimpsing the women they would become, like watching my children leave home with a mix or pride and sadness.

That may seem a little over the top, but publishing a book has been a dream since I was 13, so for me it is a pretty big deal. More importantly though, I’m proud of the story. It may not be the “best” story ever written, but it feels today, like the best I could have ever written. Yes, of course, I hope you purchase a copy but what I hope for most is that when you close that last page you say, “I really enjoyed that.”

This week, I’ll put out the link for purchase. It will initially be available from the publisher – Booklocker.com – website and then shortly after on B&N, Amazon, and ITunes book store.

2 responses to “

  1. Hello Raymond,

    I happened to stumble upon your site and I have to say it is very impressive! Congratulations on the book and I’ll have to keep an eye out for it at my local B&N. Over the course of the past year, I’ve been slowly chipping away at a spaghetti western about four gunslingers in the last days of the wild west and writing a horror story about a dysfunctional family who moves to a secluded house in the woods, only to discover that their are monsters in the woods waiting for the right moment to strike. Very glad to hear your dream came true over the book publishing! From one horror fan to another, consider me a fan of Nightmirrors!

    -Steve
    Anti-Film School

Opinions are fun!

